Curiosity Didn’t Kill Schrodinger’s Cat

I believe God made me.Einstein-on-religion

I believe He used science-describable processes, such as evolution, to bring me – and the entirety of creation – into being.

I do not blindly follow everything I hear related to science. I do research, I find verifiable facts, I cross-reference data. Science does not yet have all the answers and I’m not sure they ever will. The more scientists dig, the more questions they find. I figure this is because God is really smart and he made the universe really complicated to keep us curious.

I do not blindly follow everything I hear about God and faith. I do research (by reading what others have written), I find verifiable facts (this might involve talking to others), I cross-reference data (this is usually through prayer). God does have all the answers, but I couldn’t ever understand them all: My brain is finite. Because of this, I don’t always have the answers when it comes to faith and God. I’m ok with that because God isn’t explainable by science any more than a blacksmith is explainable by the horseshoe he made. My faith in God isn’t dependent on being able to explain Him, but I’m sure grateful he gave us such a cool sandbox to play in!

God made me intelligent. I’m not bragging; he made almost every human intelligent to a lesser or greater degree. My personal IQ doesn’t matter. However, the fact that I’m curious and I don’t take everything at face value is part of who I am. You have your own particular qualities, as God made you.

PicassoBW-portrait-778x1024Some people are born to play baseball, or to organize business conferences, or to compose music. To tell Mozart that he shouldn’t compose because you don’t personally like what he’s composing is wrong. To tell Picasso that he shouldn’t paint because you don’t like what he’s painting is equally wrong.

It is, however, perfectly right and good to talk to that person about what they are doing so you can understand it – and them – better. You might learn from them, and they might learn from you. This is the nature of discourse; this is the way we’re supposed to be in relationship with each other.

I have some strong opinions. If you know me at all, you’re rolling your eyes right now. If you don’t, just understand my biggest personal flaw and my most dangerous sin is pride. Sometimes, more than I’d like, I come across as sounding like I’m right and any other views are wrong. In short, I sometimes sound like I’m judging others. I really hate that I come across that way. It is my desire to be kind and open to people, and to treat them with respect.

If they’d just stop spouting their stupid ideas and listen to me, they’d know what was right and wrong!

Ahem. Pride.

Please forgive me if I’ve been prideful to you. But understand this: If you think I’m being prideful or arrogant, if you feel I’ve judged you, then it’s just because I feel strongly about a topic. If I didn’t feel passionate, I wouldn’t get all up in your grill about it.

When I was going to church as a child, I had some interesting experiences. I lived in Kutztown, Pennsylvania, and I attended St. Paul’s U.C.C. there in bucolic Kutztown. [Holy cow! I just discovered this church doesn’t seem to exist on the InterWebz at all! Not even a photo. And I was going to do a cool hyperlink to their non-existent website!]

Here's a random picture of Main Street in Kutztown, PA

Here’s a random picture of Main Street in Kutztown, PA

While there, I was told that the pastor was the one who could answer all of my questions. I was too intimidated by him to ask directly – and I could write a book on that topic alone, but I’m not paying you for a therapy session – so I asked my Sunday school teacher. After bringing her class to a halt one Sunday with “why, why, why?” she finally told me I couldn’t ask any more questions. I told her God made me curious, and she told me that curious children were dangerous children.

No kidding. No, I don’t remember the exact words 30 years later, but she told me curiosity was dangerous.

Perhaps you’ve read or been told the quote by Galileo regarding this topic. I’ll include it here for clarity and simplicity.

“I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with sense, reason, and intellect has intended us to forgo their use and by some other means to give us knowledge which we can attain by them [the above-listed faculties].”

So, I am curious. I am doubting. I am also sincere. If you don’t agree with my opinion on politics or abortion or religion or any other topic, talk to me about it. Don’t get angry at me because I don’t conform to your world-view. This is probably the single most horrible side-effect of the InterWebz on society. People have access to all the data accumulated by humanity over six thousand years, and what do we do? Ignore everything that doesn’t fit our world-view. This selective intake of information leads to self-fulfilled prophecies. When you only see what you want to see, everything else becomes scary. Everything else becomes dangerous.

diagnosis of curiosityThis is EXACTLY what the Catholic church was doing to Galileo, and to Copernicus before him. This is exactly what what led to World War II (the Jews are responsible for everything wrong today!) and to the Cold War. This is exactly what has led to the costly and failed War on Drugs. And this is exactly what caused nineteen men to kill themselves – and 3000 others – on 09/11/2001.

It is not by any means curiosity that is dangerous. It is the lack of curiosity, the lack of interest in questioning your world view, that is so very, very dangerous. There is nothing more terrifying to me.

I believe God made me. He made me curious.

3 thoughts on “Curiosity Didn’t Kill Schrodinger’s Cat

  1. Edward says:

    What about free will? What’s your perspective on that? Some physicists, causal people after all, are willing to argue that all events already exist and our apparent free will in the ability to make everyday decisions is just an illusion. The evidence here is from shocking neuroloscience studies and quantum mechanics investigations. What do you think about it?

    I post about physics on my blog here, and I think curiousity is a wonderful thing! 🙂

  2. Sheila says:

    Awesome post Matt!

  3. MaryBeth Richmond says:

    Acts 17:11 Now the Berean Jews were of more noble character than those in Thessalonica, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true. Gods commands us not to believe something just because someone else says it is true, but to search the scriptures yourself. Your Sunday School teacher was full of beans. Also, faith is believing in what you cannot see and Schrodinger’s cat proposes that you can’t believe what you see either.

Leave a Reply

