2013

2013. It’s been a long year.

Yeah, I know we’re only 15 days into it, but so far I have been really sick, my wife has been really sick, and my daughter has been battling an illness as well. So 15 days into this new year I’ve done almost no writing, and I haven’t been to the gym once.

However, I’m finally getting  back into the rhythm. It’s nine in the morning, and I’m finally getting some writing done. It feels good.

It’s a funny thing, health. When you’re not feeling good, it’s really hard to motivate yourself. Especially when you want to sleep 18 hours a day. If any of you struggle with illness, temporary or more long term, you have my sympathy. And you have my sincere hope. Hope that you can get back on your feet. Hope that you can feel better about yourself, and your day. Hope that you can find it within yourself to express the beauty that only you possess.

I am often motivated by the song “Unwritten” by Natasha Beddingfield. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7k0a5hYnSI

Not only is it uplifing, but it sounds like she singing to writers across the world;

No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten

 

So, even though my novel is about half done, today is where my book begins – again – and I hope your book starts today as well. Or your poem. Or your song. Or your rap. Or…

God Bless!

One thought on “2013

  1. Dietlinde says:

    You’re so inspiring. Starting our year over again, NOW.

Leave a Reply

